Homepage Our Band Forthcoming engagements Our Sponsers Alan Brown Trophy Douglas Pope Trophy Our friends Contact Details Vacancies

The Alan Brown Trophy

Alan was an enthusiastic sponsor of the band; a musician himself, he understood the hard work and dedication that is required to rehearse and perform a piece of music. He wanted to give the members of the band a goal to aim for, and thus was borne the Alan Brown trophy.

Each year before the Spring Concert every member of the band is given a voting slip; on this they must make a first and second choice (in case of a tie) of band member who they feel has excelled musically through the year - the guidance given is 'the player's player'.

Winners of the Alan Brown Trophy

2001 - Dave Garwood (Euphonium)

2010 - Brenda Cox (Cornet)

2002 - Pauline Ivins (Cornet)

2011 - Gill Elliott (Soprano Cornet)

2003 - Dave Meekings (Cornet)

2012 - Helen Maguire (Cornet)

2004 - Brenda Cox (Baritone)

2013 - Richard Everett (Trombone)

2005 - Roger Stickland (Bass)

2014 - David Steele (Bass)

2006 - Mike Nagle (Percussion)

2015 - Oliver Barton & Reanne Phillips

2007 - Jack Muir (Cornet)

2016 - Ted Cull (Cornet)

2008 - Ted Cull (Cornet)

2017 - Dave Meekings (Cornet)

2009 - Alan Spiers (Trombone, Euphonium, Eb Bass)

2018 - Lesley Seaton

Lesley winning the Alan Brown Trophy 2018

Copyright 2016 Almac Bisley Brass Band.